FIVE THINGS I COULDN’T LIVE WITHOUT..

There we have it.  I’ve finally recommitted to the world of blogging – hitting a new stage of my life, I decided it was time to keep a log of all things important to me.  That and find a more fitting way to spend my spare time: watching old re-runs of Friends every single evening is beginning to lose it’s appeal (I never thought I’d say that!).

And what a better way to start than to blog about the five things I couldn’t live without; the five things that give me a sense of self, the things that give me my identity.

1) The written word

6a7df3f1a5c6d56b0039afdbc3731e46

There is nothing better than beautifully written words.  They have the power to take me to another world.  When the world seems bleak, I know I can always turn to a wonderfully written piece of literature, and I will instantly be transported to a better place.  Just thinking about my favourite novels gives me goosebumps.  One of the best pass times for me has to be talking about literature.  I love the excitement it gives people to talk about these new worlds.

2) My Childish Side

DSCN0740

It’s safe to say I am a big kid at heart.  A perfect Sunday for me would consist of a day on the sofa, in jammies with a good Disney film playing.  On my last birthday, my family organised a surprise Disney extravaganza – Lion King Cake, Princess presents, the works.  Although this may seem pretty immature for a 21 year old graduate, I love being able to hold on to my childish side.  I have gone straight from University into full-time employment (thankfully!), and sometimes you need to be a big kid to remain sane!

3) Performing

67305_10151276043676300_1418807365_n

I have danced for as long as I can remember, and the feeling I get when I do never ceases to amaze me.  It allows me to let go of any tension or stress I’ve been feeling, and just throw myself into something I absolutely adore.  One of the best moments of my University experience happened this year at the University Society Awards.

942918_10151375400721300_154778806_n

My dance society, of which I was committee member for, was nominated for several awards, and won one of them!  It was such a fantastic feeling to finally be appreciated by the University as a strong society.  I am desperate to find a new class and find that electricity once again.  Until then, the night club dance floor will have to do!

4) Dreaming Big

I’ve always been a dreamer.  Ever since I was little, I knew I wanted to get out of my home town and really make something of myself.  As cliche as that sounds, I get such a buzz out of pushing myself for bigger and better things.  I could never settle for something that didn’t make me happy; luckily, so far, I haven’t had to.  

5) My Family, Boyfriend and Friends

602694_10151489007261300_1625689139_n

1001006_10151469127166300_1523910300_n

229004_10153016885770291_529391044_n

I am blessed to have the most kind, loving and supportive family I could ever dream of, as well as a boyfriend I couldn’t live without and a beautiful, inspiring group of friends.  Above all, these are the most important things in my life.

2 thoughts on “FIVE THINGS I COULDN’T LIVE WITHOUT..

  1. As a fellow Disney fanatic, I can relate to all five things that you can’t live without 😉 Disney seems to embody all five things at the same time and it’s a wonderful place that I like to visit as frequently as possible to get back in touch with my inner child. As Walt Disney states, “All our dreams can come true if we have the courage to pursue them”. Nice post, looking forward to future offerings 😉

Leave a Reply

