FIVE PEOPLE I WOULD INVITE TO A DINNER PARTY…

It’s a common topic of discussion, as well as one of those terribly confusing curve balls thrown around in job interviews; which five people, dead or alive, would you invite to a dinner party?

It’s supposed to say a lot about an individual: what type of person do they feel they could get the most out of in the whole world.. that they would most like to spend a delicious few hours in the company of.

So it got my mind going – who would I love to spend an evening of wine, great good and even better company with?

SF

1. Stephen Fry.

I absolutely adore Stephen Fry.  He is the one “dinner guest” that never changes.  Witty, ridiculously intelligent, and not afraid to stand up for what he believes in – he is just a brilliant character.  Even his voice is like music; the way he uses language is magical, the words spilling out like a beautiful painting.  His love of linguistics is just the icing on top of the cake; I could listen to him talk about language for hours and hours.  It would be a real dream to one day meet this exceptional man.

Check out Stephen Fry’s bright and wonderful website: www.stephenfry.com

smallavonBRADY_jalden014.jpg Avon - Karren Brady

2. Karren Brady.

As a female working to build a career as a successful, independent woman, Karren Brady is an inspiration.  She has her fingers in so many pies, attacking so many different areas of the business world.  She is one of Britain’s leading business figures; a huge feat in a world where the media tends to only focus on women based on their breast size or fashion sense.

She has built an incredible career in a male-orientated industry, as well as being an advocate for a huge range of charities.  There is nothing this woman cannot do!  I would do anything to get every single piece of advice possible from her, and gain even the slightest glimpse into her professional and personal life.  To me she is a symbol of the continual fight against sexism in the business world: for that reason, she would most definitely be receiving an invite to my dinner party!

JC

3. Johnny Cash.

Every dinner party needs a slice of music; to me, there is no better music than the exquisite voice of Johnny Cash.  There is nothing in the world that gives me goosebumps quite like his rendition of Hurt.  I could listen to that song every minute of the day.

Aside from his music, Johnny Cash lived an incredible, moving life.  I would be fascinated to hear him speak of his battle with addiction, and his indestructible love for June Carter.  The way he used to speak of his spirituality was also so beautiful – although I don’t see myself as a spiritual person, I love the way people talk about their faith, and the way it has molded their life.  It is so interesting, as it is not something I myself can really relate to.  But that doesn’t make it any the less compelling.

“I wear the black for those who never read,
Or listened to the words that Jesus said,
About the road to happiness through love and charity,
Why, you’d think He’s talking straight to you and me…
I wear it for the sick and lonely old,
For the reckless ones whose bad trip left them cold…” 

JK Rowling-1453515

4. J K Rowling.

No dinner party would be complete without the woman who made my childhood magical in ways I could never have imagined.  JK Rowling created a whole new world – a world that will live on and on… I hope forever.  Even now, Harry Potter does something to me I can’t explain.  The only thing that comes close, would be to say it makes me feel like the world isn’t so dark after all.  I can’t even say what I would ask her.  Perhaps nothing – I wouldn’t want to ruin the magical illusion I have of her.  I would simply say Thank you – thank you for showing me a dream world, and giving me memories I will always hold dearly.  Thank you for introducing so many children (and adults!) to literature.  Thank you for giving me a form of escapism, even as a 21 year old graduate.  Thank you for bringing Harry, Ron and Hermione to the muggle world!

IH001260

5. Oscar Wilde.

A man with the power to turn words into beautiful artwork, withstanding the centuries and remaining as iconic messages just as relevant now as in the 1800’s.  His work was exciting and daring – not dissimilar to his personal life.  I would love to just sit and listen to him.  Have him tell me about his inspiration for his unforgettable work, and the years spent in and after prison; what did it do to him?  When I imagine just sitting at a dinner table with this man, it almost feels like he is make believe – he would have so many incredible tales to tell, and so many enchanting thoughts to ponder over… I think you’d have to agree, it would be an experience like no other.

“To live is the rarest thing in the world. Most people exist, that is all.” 

I’d love to know your top five dinner guests… Leave a comment and let me know your dream team 🙂

Leave a Reply

