WHAT’S ON MY WISH LIST..

I’m always keeping my eyes open for things to add to my wish list.  Quaint trinkets, literary jewellery, recommended books… anything a bit special!

I decided at the end of 2013 that it was time I made a list of books I needed to read in 2014.  The idea struck me after reading an article on the Huffington Post website about the top 30 books to read before you’re 30.  So many of them I hadn’t even had the pleasure of experiencing; so I nabbed a few of their ideas, along with a few recommendations as well as my own yearning desires and alas, my list was formed.  Now I have cut my book club outings to one a month I have a bit more time to plow through the list.

  • Apple Tree Yard – Louise Doughty
  • Before I go to sleep – S J Watsongripping and spine tingling.  A real page turner.  Up there with Gone Girl for killer twist.
  • The Testament of Mary – Colm Toibinraw, thought-provoking and delightfully intelligent.  A divine read and one I will return to again and again.
  • The Sun also rises – Ernest Hemingway
  • Anna Karenina – Leo Tolstoy
  • The Golden Notebook – Doris Lessing
  • A room of one’s own – Virginia Woolf
  • Picture of Dorian Gray – Oscar Wildean absolute joy to read.  Wilde not only has a poignant way with words, but he was also clearly barmy as hell… my kind of guy.
  • Shadow of the Wind – Carlos Ruis Zafon
  • The Prisoner of Heaven – Carlos Ruis Zafonafter reading the Angel’s game first and then this second it could be said I’ve read the Cemetery of Forgotten Books series in a bit of an odd order.  But it still works.  Zafon’s intricate plot seamlessly weaves in and out of all the books in a way that can be thrown around in any order.
  • The Go-Between – L P Hartley
  • The Fault in our Stars – John Greena book I only finished this evening.  Although admittedly aimed at a teen audience, I found this book beautiful, insightful and painfully honest.  A fair few tears have been shed today!
  • The Book Thief – Markus Zusak Beautifully written and poignantly moving.  One of the most wonderful books I have ever read, and a story that will stay with me forever.
  • The Woman who walked into Doors – Roddy Doyle

I’m constantly adding to this list, so please any suggestions are more than welcome!

Next on my wish list is one of the most delightful little ideas I have seen in a long time.  Popping up on my Twitter feed last night were KleverCase, a family run business making bespoke handmade covers for ereaders, journals and tablet devices.

1

Image taken from KleverCase website

Inspired by all the cherished novels of our time, this is a delicious blend of contemporary and classic… and I love it!  The details on these products look perfect; they cater to the demands of modern life whilst encapsulating the magic of Fitzgerald, Dickens and Austen.  Ideal for precious gifts (or a cheeky present for yourself) they come in a huge range of designs / sizes / functions… and there is the option to personalise!  It’s safe to say I have my eye on a few of these.  The only problem is deciding which one I want most!

And with that I sign off; apologies for the short post, but I found myself compelled to get a bit “booky” with my blog.  After all, there really is no better buzz than that of a meaty novel.

3 thoughts on “WHAT’S ON MY WISH LIST..

  1. Pingback: WISHLIST TITLES: THE TESTAMENT OF MARY.. | The Scribble Emporium

Leave a Reply

